Weekly Photo Challenge: Lunchtime – It’s phonoegraphy month, and what do we love to photograph with our cameraphones? Food. So why fight it? This week’s theme is “lunchtime.”

Binalot in Filipino means, “To Wrap”.  And that’s exactly the description of how this food is prepared.  It is wrapped in banana leaf.  I’ve always loved eating on banana leaf.  It’s my favorite way to eat, because it feels so Filipino.  Traditionally, this is supposed to be eaten without using utensils.  But I have this thing with my hands, where I don’t like to get them dirty and sticky and I spray them with hand sanitizer, occasionally. Ok, I spray them often…  

There are tons of “binalot” restaurants in the Philippines.  We ate at Binalot Fiesta Foods, which my sister recommended.  She asked why I was taking a picture of my food, and I said it’s for my blog.  And she laughed and rolled her eyes.  Taking pictures of what you’re eating can get a little weird sometimes.  But I like doing it because food is so beautiful and delicious.  Although, I am aware that taking a picture of a person taking a picture of food is funnier, as seen here in this site:  http://picsofaznstakingpicsoffood.tumblr.com/

IMG_2190

Dahon is Filipino for “Leaf”

IMG_2191

IMG_2183

I had Vivo Tocino Meal. Like most binalot meals, this includes salted egg and tomatoes. Tocino is a Spanish word for “bacon”. It has a sweet and salty taste and is my favorite of all the types of binalot meals.

IMG_2185

My sister had Tapa Rap Sarap.
Tapa is dried or cured beef, mutton or venison, although other meat or even fish may be used. Filipinos prepare thin slices of meat and cure it with salt and spices as a method of preserving it. Tapa is best fried or grilled, often served with rice, fried egg and achara (pickled papaya strips). (Source: Wikipedia)

For Filipinos in another country, I know you probably miss this type of food…  I know I did when I was working in Singapore.

KJSO

