Dear Diary,

I knew that getting married might require me to learn how to cook.  I know how to do the basic things like cook rice, boil and fry and microwave stuff.  But I didn’t know much about experimenting and I never thought it would actually be easy to follow the steps from cooking recipes…  Our trip to Minneapolis last year has taught me a lot about cooking.  One of the recipes I learned during that trip was Zuppa Toscana.  In all my 29 years on earth, that was the first time I’d heard of it.  I even thought it was Soupa Tuscana ’till I searched it on the internet…

IMG_8501

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 (16 ounce) package smoked sausage (or whatever alternative that is similar to this)
  • 2 potatoes, cut into 1/4-inch slices (hubby did it because I haven’t mastered the skill of slicing and dicing)
  • 3/4 cup chopped onion
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons minced garlic
  • 2 cups kale – washed, dried, and shredded
  • 2 tablespoons chicken bouillon powder
  • 1 quart water
  • 1/3 cup heavy whipping cream
  • 1/3 cup Evaporated Milk


IMG_8492

Hubby chops up the Kale

STEPS

1.  Preheat oven to 300 degrees F (150 degrees C).  Bake sausage for 25 minutes and chop it up.

IMG_8313

2.  Place the sausage into a large pot after cutting it up.

IMG_8487

2. Add onions and garlic and cook for 1 minute or until onions look almost clear.

IMG_8488

3. Add chicken stock, water and potatoes, simmer for 15 minutes

IMG_8491

4. Add kale, milk and cream. Simmer for 4 minutes and serve.

IMG_8499

Happy Eating! 🙂

KJSO

