Divergent (Divergent, #1)

*Photo Credit: goodreads.com

Divergent

The number one rule to making a good dystopian book is to make sure that the dystopian society, that comes after a crisis strong enough to bring the earth or a place near extinction, is believable.

So what do the people do in this story?

They form five factions, each based on a value.  Abnegation for people who are selfless.  Erudite for people who value intelligence.  Candor for people who value honesty. Amity for people who value peace.  And the Dauntless who value braveness.

Forming a faction based on one value is not something that people will come up with, unless all that’s left on earth are singlie-minded and have low IQ.  But since it’s such a stupid system, as predicted, it does not hold up well for people who can’t contain themselves to just one faction.  Thus, the title, Divergent.  This kind of reasoning reminds me of Deliriums’ “Let’s remove love from people because that’s what’s causing all the problems” premise.

But despite the weak dystopian society, I find the character development strong.  Tris is not a whiny, clingy and annoying 16 year old.  There is no love triangle.   There weren’t too many mushy parts to roll my eyes on.  You will love and hate the characters as the author intended.

I gave the book 4 out of 5 stars in goodreads because, I liked it and am interested in finishing the whole series.  Minus one star because I really didn’t like the factions idea.

 

Insurgent by Veronica Roth

*Photo Credit: goodreads.com

Insurgent

Book two of the Divergent series.  My reaction after reading the book?  “So, it does get better…”  I couldn’t get over the fact that people would actually agree to dividing themselves into factions from book one. Now it actually seems possible and no longer idiotic.

And now I’m I want to know more and can’t wait for the 3rd book.

The story is a bit similar to Ember and to The Giver (which are both really great books) and I have really high hopes for this series now.

 

Free Four: Tobias Tells the Story (Divergent, #1.1)

*Photo Credit: goodreads.com

Free Four

This is just a short story in Tobias’ point of view during the same timeline as book Divergent. Personally, I would have preferred to not have read this because I like the mystery behind how Tobias thinks. But it is still well written and is a nice development to his character.

* Added to my 2013 Book List

