Dear Diary,

It’s been a while since my last update.  So I’ll just let you in on our last weekend getaway, which also falls on our Wedding Anniversary.

It’s not just the 1st year of our marriage, but also the 7 years of being a couple that we were celebrating.  Being married tests one’s EQ.  It’s not as simple as having a new roommate.  The 1st year is always the time when you test if you are able to adjust to each other’s personalities.  I have multiple-personalities so it’s much more complicated for him… hehe

But I’m happy that we’ve passed a milestone in our lives.  I know that 1 year is nothing compared to the couples who have been married for more than 50 years.  But this 1 year gives me a lot of hope for the future to come.  I’ve been around too many failed marriages that sometimes I fear the same might happen to me.  But I look at my husband, who seems to love me, despite all my flaws, and I feel like we can make it through anything that comes our way.

Sure, we’ve had fights about very trivial issues.  But one thing we seem to have established is that we both make up before we go to sleep or we make up when we wake up in the morning and have realized how stupid the fight was.  We’ve learned to accept that both of us have our own annoying habits.  And the best agreement of all is that we keep our issues to ourselves and not broadcast it on Facebook like some people like to do…

We celebrated our Anniversary for 2 days.  The day before our anniversary, we went to Ocean Park Manila with my family.  Then Hubby and I stayed overnight at the hotel nearby, which I had booked a month earlier for discounts.  We’ve been to Ocean Park before, but we just love the fishes, so we decided to go back.  They added a new attraction called, Trails to Antarctica.  It’s not as big as what I expected, but the place was great for pictorials.

The next day, we went to Star City with my cousins and sister.  Star City is a theme park that’s been around for years since I was a kid.  But believe it or not, it was a first for hubby and me.  It’s not as “themed” as Enchanted Kingdom is.  It’s more like rides plopped together to make use of the space they have.

The roller coaster ride, Star Flyers, was short but was great fun.  I was mostly afraid that my feet would hit one of the metal bars…

They had a water log ride, Jungle Splash, that had 2 drops and 1 drop was pretty high and scary.  Make sure you’re holding on real tight…

IMG_3183

They had this really dizzying ride called Star Frisbee.  If you have a weak stomach, do not, I repeat, do not ride it…

And our favorite thrill ride, Surf Dance, was the best of them all.  The length and the surprise and G-force were just perfect!

Those were the thrill rides that were located in the grounds outside of the huge building.  Inside they had lots of more rides (mostly for kids) and lots of haunted houses that weren’t really scary unless you’re my sixteen-year-old cousin who had her eyes closed the whole time…

They also had a snow themed attraction, called Snow Village.  We weren’t allowed to bring our cameras here, so we don’t have any pictures.  But they have this high slide inside, which I would have to say, beats the slide that Ocean Park had in their Trails to Antarctica…

After the 2-day adventure,  both hubby and I are nursing our cough and cold that we probably caught in the Trails of Antarctica and Snow Village… Living in this tropical country means an hour or two in super cold places would really make us get sick…

IMG_3139

Love lots,

AvA_Martini

